Barcelona pay a LIFETIME salary to all of their European title winners

REVEALED: Barcelona pay a LIFETIME salary to every one of their European champions due to a promise made by former president Joan Laporta that was inspired by Lionel Messi

  • Barcelona reward players who won a European trophy with a lifetime salary
  • The promise was made by former president Joan Laporta and was stuck to
  • Laporta was inspired by Lionel Messi’s goal in the 2009 Champions League final
  • The recipients of the reward could total close to 300 players from 12 squads 

Barcelona players past, present and future have another reason to thank Lionel Messi – as it has been revealed that he inspired former club president Joan Laporta to award every single winner of a European title at the Catalan club a lifetime salary.  

More than 290 players could be benefiting – with the Nou Camp side having amassed five Champions League tiles, four Cup Winners’ Cups and three Fairs Cups. 

Juan Carlos Heredia – who was victorious in the Cup Winners’ Cup in 1979 alongside Johan Cruyff – is one of the recipients, and explained how the reward was inspired.     

Barcelona pay European champions a lifetime salary after a promise from a former president

Joan Laporta made the pledge after the 2009 Champions League final which Barca won

Lionel Messi’s goal in the 2009 Champions League final over Man United inspired the reward

‘When Barcelona won the Champions League final in Rome against Manchester United with a goal from Messi, the club president declared that all those who were European champions with Barcelona were going to receive a salary for life. And he fulfilled it,’ Heredia explained to The Tactical Room.  

Messi’s goal came in the 70th minute of the 2009 final, sealing the win over Sir Alex Ferguson’s side after an early Sameul Eto’o strike. 

Since then, the Catalans have won two more European titles in 2011 and 2015, with names fro Neymar to Marc Bartra added to the list of Barcelona’s European champions.  

Left to right: Johan Cruyff, Michael Laudrup and Hristo Stoichkov lift the 1992 Champions League trophy

Luis Suarez, Messi and Neymar lifted their last title in 2015 after a 3-1 win over Juventus, their 12th major European crown

Former Spanish politician Laporta was Barcelona president from 2003 to 2010, and oversaw the club as they won six trophies in one season under Pep Guardiola in 2009. 

The 26-time La Liga victors are leading their Champions League group and on track to put another squad in contention for the lifetime salary. 

Becoming champions of Europe again in 2019-20 would be the fifth time in 15 years, and send a response to the three straight titles rivals Real Madrid have managed since the Catalans were last crowned.  


Barcelona’s 12 European titles:

1957-58 Fairs Cup

1959-60 Fairs Cup

1965-66 Fairs Cup 

1978-79 Cup Winners Cup 

1981-82 Cup Winners Cup 

1988-89 Cup Winners Cup 

1991-92 Champions League 

1996-97 Cup Winners Cup 

2005-06 Champions League 

2008-09 Champions League  

2010-11 Champions League 

2014-15 Champions League 

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article