Boston Bruins sweep Carolina Hurricanes to advance to Stanley Cup Final

RALEIGH, N.C. — The Boston Bruins remained the NHL’s hottest postseason team by downing the Carolina Hurricanes 4-0 to sweep the Eastern Conference final and earn their third trip to the Stanley Cup Final since 2011.

They will play the winner of the series between the San Jose Sharks and St. Louis Blues in the Final. The Sharks lead that best-of-seven series 2-1.

The Bruins have won seven consecutive playoff games. During the streak, they have outscored opponents 28-9.

Going 7-for-15 (46.6%) on the power play, the Bruins dominated special teams against the Hurricanes, who had made the playoffs for the first time in a decade. The Hurricanes were 1-for-14 (7.1%) on the power play in the series.

Opinion: NHL playoffs show officiating, review process need significant overhaul

NHL playoff beard tradition: Throw away the razors and let the razzing begin

Boston’s first two goals – one by David Pastrnak and the other by Patrice Bergeron – came on the power play in the second period. Bergeron added another in the third period and Brad Marchand added an empty netter. Pastrnak had a goal and two assists.

Series lead: 3-0.
Game 4 lead:

Another key for the Bruins has been the strong play of goalie Tuukka Rask, who has given up two or fewer goals for five consecutive games and eight times in the Bruins’ last 10 playoff games. The Hurricanes only managed to score five goals in the four games. Rask stopped all 24 shots he faced in Game 4.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron (37) celebrates with winger Brad Marchand after scoring a goal in the second period of Game 4. (Photo: Geoff Burke, USA TODAY Sports)

The Bruins played this game without defenseman Zdeno Chara, 42, who is listed as day-to-day. Boston's captain had played 98 consecutive playoff games, dating to 2011.

Should the Bruins take home the Stanley Cup, it would give Boston-area teams the most recent titles in three of the four major North American sports leagues. The Boston Red Sox captured the World Series title in October, while the New England Patriots won the Super Bowl in February.  

Source: Read Full Article