F1 announces record 22-race calendar in 2020 with new Grands Prix in Holland and Vietnam – The Sun

FORMULA ONE has confirmed plans for a record-breaking 22-race calendar in 2020.

SunSport exclusively revealed last month how F1's owners, Liberty Media, were trying to convince team bosses to agree to the gruelling schedule after the Spanish GP was offered a reprieve.

The track in Barcelona has been granted a one-year deal to add to new races in Holland and Vietnam, while the German GP drops from the list.

Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO for F1 said: "It's with great pleasure that today we publish the draft 2020 calendar.

"It's the year in which the series that is the pinnacle of motorsport celebrates its seventieth anniversary with, for the first time, a 22 race calendar.

"It is significant for our sport and confirms our long-term strategy.


"Since we became involved in this sport in 2017, we have talked about developing new destination cities to broaden the appeal of F1 and at the same time, consolidating our presence in Europe, the traditional home of the sport.

"Therefore, we have Vietnam making its debut in the capital Hanoi, one of the most exciting cities in the world right now with such a rich history and an incredible future ahead of it.

"And we also have the return of the historic Zandvoort circuit, on the outskirts of another vibrant city, Amsterdam, for the Dutch Grand Prix.

"In addition, we have extended our agreement with Silverstone, home to the British Grand Prix, which in 1950 hosted the first of the 1009 events held to date.

2020 F1 calendar in full

15 March – Australia, Melbourne
22 March – Bahrain, Sakhir
5 April – Vietnam, Hanoi
19 April – China, Shanghai
3 May – Holland, Zandvoort
10 May – Spain, Barcelona
24 May – Monaco, Monte Carlo
7 June – Azerbaijan, Baku
14 June – Canada, Montreal
28 June – France, Le Castellet
5 July – Austria, Spielberg
19 July – Great Britain, Silverstone
2 August – Hungary, Budapest
30 August – Belgium, Spa
6 September – Italy, Monza
20 September – Singapore
27 September – Russia, Sochi
11 October – Japan, Suzuka
25 October – USA, Austin
1 November – Mexico, Mexico City
15 November – Brazil, Sao Paulo
29 November – Abu Dhabi

"And we are in negotiations with the Monza circuit which has hosted more Grands Prix than any other track.

"The season with a record 22 Grands Prix has received unanimous support from the FIA and all the teams.

"[It] clearly demonstrates the confidence that exists in the future of our sport, which with over 500 million fans remains one of the most followed and popular in the world."

Source: Read Full Article