Premier League play-off line-up confirmed as Michael Smith breaks duck

The play-off line-up for the 2022 Premier League darts has been confirmed following the final night of the regular season in Newcastle.

With long-time leader Jonny Clayton, Michael van Gerwen and James Wade already assured of their places in the German capital Berlin, the real intrigue on the night revolved around two players – Joe Cullen and Peter Wright, with the winner of their quarter-final assured of at least fourth spot.

And it was Cullen who took the spoils, producing a brilliant display of finishing to win a tight clash 6-4. The Rockstar could have then vaulted above Wade and into third spot, which would have set up a play-off semi-final against Van Gerwen, whose form has dipped over the last couple of weeks.

But the unerringly consistent Clayton went through to yet another night final with a 6-4 win. In that final, he came up against Michael Smith, who had beaten Van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price earlier in the night.

Smith went into it as the only player not to have secured a night win all season, but that all changed as Bully Boy triumphed 6-3 to pick up the £10,000 bonus.

Smith raced into a 4-0 lead and missed double top to make it 5-0. It could have proved costly as Clayton fought back to make it 4-3, but the St Helens thrower held his nerve to take the next two legs, winning the match in style with a 112 checkout. Already out of play-off contention, the win did at least lift Smith up to sixth in the final table, above Price.

Do you think Michael Smith will be in the Premier League next year? Have your say in the comments section below.

There is now a wait of more than two weeks before the play-offs, which don’t take place until Monday, June 13, three days before the start of the World Cup of Darts in Frankfurt.

Premier League darts play-off semi-final line-up

Jonny Clayton vs Joe Cullen

Michael van Gerwen vs James Wade

Source: Read Full Article