Tokyo Olympic rowing: When did Team GB last lose in the coxless four?

TEAM GB are looking to carry on the legacy of Sir Steve Redgrave as they head into the coxless four rowing final.

The Brits won their heat ahead of Italy on Saturday to advance directly to the final.

However they will face a strong challenge from Australia this time around after the Aussies qualified fastest.

Great Britain have totally dominated the event in the modern era, but when did they last lose?

🥇 TOKYO OLYMPICS LIVE: All the latest from the Games with our live blog

🥇 WHAT'S ON TODAY? Best bits to watch at the Olympics and UK times for your favourite stars

When did Team GB last fail to win gold in the coxless four?

Team GB have a phenomenal record in the coxless four and have won it at all the last five Olympic Games.

The fifth straight gold in the coxless four in Rio, achieved by Moe Sbihi and his team-mates, broke a record held by East Germany, who won the event at four consecutive Olympics between 1968 and 1980.

The last time the Brits failed to win it was back in 1996 in Atlanta.

There, they picked up the bronze with Australia taking gold.

How many times did Steve Redgrave win the coxless four?

Steve Redgrave actually won the coxless four just once, at Sydney 2000.

That race was particularly memorable as it was the one in which he won his fifth gold.

Redgrave's rowing gold medals were as follows:

  • Coxed four – Los Angeles 1984: With Martin Cross, Richard Budget, Andy Holmes and Adrian Ellison (cox)
  • Coxless pair – Seoul 1988: With Andy Holmes
  • Coxless pair – Barcelona 1992: With Matthew Pinsent
  • Coxless pair – Atlanta 1996: With Matthew Pinsent
  • Coxless four – Sydney 2000: With Matthew Pinsent, James Cracknell and Tim Foster

    Source: Read Full Article