When is the Ballon d'Or 2022? Date, stream live and nominees CONFIRMED for prestigious award ceremony | The Sun

THE Ballon d'Or will likely go to another Real Madrid player this month – after the awards ceremony was deliberately moved to BEFORE the World Cup.

Argentinian legend Lionel Messi edged Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski to secure the prestigious award in 2021.

But the Paris Saint-Germain magician failed to make the shortlist this time around, courtesy of an underwhelming debut season in France.

And so did Brazilian superstar Neymar who wasn't afraid to hit out at his critics.

However, there are still a whole host of names in the 30-man list worthy of being crowned with such an honourable prize.

SunSport has everything you need to know about the Ballon d'Or 2022.

When is the Ballon d'Or award ceremony?

The 66th edition of the Ballon d'Or is set to take place on Monday, October 17.

And an official start time will be confirmed nearer the date.

Read More on Ballon d’Or

Ballon d’Or 2022 winner – Benzema favourite ahead of Liverpool’s Salah & Mane

Courtois opens up on Ballon d’Or hopes after Champions League heroics

Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France is the allocated arena for this intriguing event and it can host 2,010 spectators.

There will be a slight twist as the winner will be chosen based on performances over a season as opposed to a calendar year.

How can I watch the Ballon d'Or award ceremony?

Viewers in the UK can stream the entire action live via the Eurosport website or the Eurosport app.

However, fans can globally watch the award ceremony on French outlet L'Equipe's YouTube channel or L'Equipe's website.

Most read in Football


Man Utd treble winner looks unrecognisable with hipster beard and skin fade hair


Iker Casillas claims he was hacked after tweeting 'I'm gay' to millions of fans


Schmeichel edging towards January Nice exit due to ‘poor attitude’ after move


England face Italy and Ukraine in horror Euro 2024 qualifying draw

Who are the Ballon d'Or nominees?

The nominees were revealed by France Football on Friday, August 12 2022.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema have all been shortlisted.

But Lionel Messi failed to make the 30-man cut for the first time in over a decade.

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
  • Karim Benzema – Real Madrid
  • Joao Cancelo – Manchester City
  • Casemiro – Manchester United (formerly Real Madrid)
  • Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United
  • Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester City
  • Luis Diaz – Liverpool (formerly Porto)
  • Fabinho – Liverpool
  • Phil Foden – Manchester City
  • Erling Haaland – Manchester City (formerly Borussia Dortmund)
  • Sebastien Haller – Borussia Dortmund (formerly Ajax)
  • Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur
  • Joshua Kimmich – Bayern Munich
  • Rafael Leao – AC Milan
  • Robert Lewandowski – Barcelona (formerly Bayern Munich)
  • Riyad Mahrez – Manchester City
  • Mike Maignan – AC Milan
  • Sadio Mane – Bayern Munich (formerly Liverpool)
  • Kylian Mbappe – Paris Saint-Germain
  • Luka Modric – Real Madrid
  • Christopher Nkunku – RB Leipzig
  • Darwin Nunez – Liverpool (formerly Benfica)
  • Antonio Rudiger – Real Madrid (formerly Chelsea)
  • Mohamed Salah – Liverpool
  • Bernardo Silva – Manchester City
  • Son Heung-min – Tottenham Hotspur
  • Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
  • Vinicius Junior – Real Madrid
  • Dusan Vlahovic – Juventus (formerly Fiorentina)

Who has won the most Ballon d'0r awards?

Lionel Messi has been crowned with the prestigious award on SEVEN occasions which makes him the current record holder.

The Argentinian icon is two ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo who has been stuck on five since 2017.

Luka Modric is the only other player currently still playing to have secured the Ballon d'Or.

What are the odds?

Betfair have Karim Benzema as favourites for the prestigious trophy.

Here are a list of contenders, courtesy of the bookmaker.

  • Karim Benzema – 1/33
  • Erling Haaland – 12/1
  • Kylian Mbappe – 16/1
  • Mo Salah – 25/1
  • Virgil van Dijk – 25/1
  • Robert Lewandowski – 33/1
  • Kevin de Bruyne – 33/1
  • Harry Kane – 33/1
  • Vinicius Jr – 33/1
  • Sadio Mane 33/1
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – 40/1
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold – 40/1
  • Luis Diaz – 40/1
  • Phil Foden – 66/1
  • Joshua Kimmich – 100/1
  • Dusan Vlahovic – 125/1
  • Bernardo Silva – 150/1
  • Riyad Mahrez – 150/1
  • Joao Cancelo 250/1

Source: Read Full Article