Boxing referee laughs as he admits to 'cheating' for Manny Pacquiao and giving legend 18 SECOND count to survive KO | The Sun

BOXING referee Carlos Padilla laughed as he admitted to giving Manny Pacquio an 18-second count – which saw him accused of cheating. 

Padilla, from the Philippines like Pacquiao, officiated a bout between the future boxing legend and Nedal Hussein.  

In round four, Hussein scored a knockdown and the ref admitted to giving PacMan almost DOUBLE the amount of time to beat the ten-count. 

In a now-scrubbed interview with the WBC, Padilla said: "Manny was not a world champion yet, he was only good in the Philippines. 

"That fight, I'm about to go and leave the following day and they told me, 'Carlos, please – this is an important fight for Pacquiao, because the winner will have the chance to fight for the world championship'.

“So, you know the opponent, Hussein, or whatever his name was. He is taller, younger, stronger, and a dirty fighter, managed by Jeff Fenech. 

READ MORE in boxing

World Cup sign-up offer: Bet £19 Get £66 in FREE BETS to use today with Bet UK

Boxing schedule 2022: Upcoming fights including Fury vs Chisora

"So in the seventh round, I think [it was the fourth], Manny got knocked down, I thought he was going to get up, but his eyes were cross-eyed.

"I am Filipino, and everybody watching the fight is Filipino, so I prolonged the count. I know how to do it. 

"When he got up, I told him, ‘Hey, are you okay?’ Still prolonging the fight. ‘Are you okay?’ ‘Okay, fight!’ 

"And then Hussein – because Manny was not like Manny is now, he wasn’t trained by Freddie Roach yet, he holds on for his dear life, and the guy throws him, and he went down again. 

"I said to the opponent, ‘Hey, you don’t do this.’ You know, I was prolonging the fight. ‘You don’t do that. Okay, judges, [point] deduction'."

Most read in Boxing


Bridges fans left hot under the collar with pic of boxer in Black Cat costume


'I deserve another shot' – Franklin demands Whyte rematch after being 'robbed'


Ian Wright's pal killed with glass months after becoming a dad to baby girl


Wilder ready to fight Joshua NEXT as his manager slams talk of Whyte rematch


Padilla then admitted he scored an accidental headbutt that cut Hussein as a punch. 

If an accidental blow – such as a headbutt – causes a cut and the fight to be halted it will go to the judges scorecards and the time of the stoppage. 

But if the ref deems it a legal blow, the cut boxer loses by technical knockout. 

Padilla said: "Manny is still groaning and then [I said to Pacquiao] 'Get up, are you OK?' 

"And then because he is shorter he headbutted the other guy and there is a cut but I declared it a punch. 

"If there is a headbutt you have to stop the fight and declare to the judges a point deduction, but I didn't do that, meaning the fight could continue. [

"The cut] is not really big – but I never got the doctor to check it [because] I want to see it serious."

Pacquiao, who is now 43 and retired from boxing, is yet to respond to the claims. 

Read More on The Sun

I’ve been forced to sleep in TENT because my mouldy house is making me sick

I’m a time-traveller and I KNOW who wins the World Cup…I have video proof

But Aussie boxer Hussein, who last fought in 2007, slammed Padilla on Instagram. 

He fumed: "This putrid dog admitted to cheating me."

Source: Read Full Article