Strictly Come Dancing winners list – from Stacey Dooley to Caroline Flack

DANCE enthusiasts will tonight tune in to watch this years Strictly stars strut their stuff on the dancefloor in a bid to win the 2020 glitterball trophy in the final.

But who are the champions who came before them? Here's the full list of winners from the show so far…

2004 – Natasha Kaplinsky

The first series of the show ran from May to July 2004, before being moved to its now regular Autumn/Winter spot.

Alongside Brendan Cole – one of the only professionals to remain on the show throughout – presenter Natasha won the first top prize after beating out seven other competitors.

Their highest scoring dance was the samba, which earned them 37 points.

2004 – Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny will go down in Strictly history as the first ever contestant to win a perfect 40.

Facing tough competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis, Jill trounced the competition to win the glitterball.

She was partnered with professional Darren Bennett, who remained on the show until 2009.

2005 – Darren Gough

Darren Gough shook off his tough guy image to become of the few to win the Strictly trophy alongside Lilia Kopylova.

Starting the show with one of the lowest scores, Darren was never the top performer of the shows run.

In the finale, the judges scores put him in last place behind his competitors, but viewers thought differently.

Zoe Ball placed third, whereas Olympic hurdler Colin Jackson came second.

2006 – Mark Ramprakash

With Karen Hardy showing him the way, cricketer Mark became the second of his sport to show a surprising ability on the dancefloor.

They managed to land a perfect score with a Samba in week 9, dancing to Peter Allen's I Go To Rio, as well as a samba in the final to Hot Hot Hot.

Matt Dawson and Emma Bunton placed 2nd and 3rd respectively.

2007 – Alesha Dixon

Singer Alesha and professional dancer Matthew Cutler stormed to victory with a seires of showstopping routines including a Cha Cha to Crazy in Love.

Following her win, she later returned to the series as a short-lived judge, before joining the team at Britain's Got Talent.

They beat Matt DiAngelo and his partner Flavia Cacace in the final – though they ended up a couple so I guess everyone was a winner here.

2008 – Tom Chambers

Tom beat S Club 7 star Rachel Stevens in the finale alongside professional dance partner, Camilla Dallerup.

The Holby City actor was not the running favourite, but despite the scores given to him by the judges, he remained safe throughout.

He ended his run on the show by performing a Foxtrot and a Salsa – both of which were the lowest scores against his competitors – but he won regardless.

2009 – Chris Hollins

Chris Hollins beat soap hunk Ricky Whittle in the finale to be crowned champion of 2009.

Partnered with Ola Jordan, who has since left the show and become a star all her own, the pair formed a close bond during their time on the show.

Despite Ricky being the top scorer and long-running favourite, Chris's won over the audience at home who called in to save him.

2010 – Kara Tointon

Ex-Eastenders star Kara turned her hand to dancing for the 2010 series.

Partnered with Artem Chigvintsev (who she later had a relationship with), the pair became unstoppable on the dancefloor.

She beat Matt Baker and Pamela Stephenson in the final with an American Smooth to Justin Timberlake's Cry Me a River, and a waltz to If You Don't Know Me By Now.

2011 – Harry Judd

McFly star Harry Judd faced tough competition from Chelsee Healey and Jason Donovan – with the trio nearly ALWAYS bagging the top spot from their competitors.

However, thanks to an American Smooth and an Argentine Tango in the final, he took home the glitterball trophy.

He was partnered with Aliona Vilani for the length of the competition.

2012 – Louis Smith

Gymnast Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace stormed to victory over Kimberley Walsh and Denise Van Outen.

Despite Denise getting the top score for nine of the twelve weeks, Louis won the public over and raised the trophy.

They scored a perfect 40 for their final showdance, Rule The World by Take That.

2013 – Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy showed she was more than just a pretty face with a killer turn on the 2013 series.

She was paired up with Aljaz Skorjanec for the show, and in the finale beat Natalie Gumede and Susanna Reid.

This was the first year of a streak of finale appearances by professional Kevin Clifton, however he's yet to win.

2014 – Caroline Flack

Caroline, alongside long-running regular Pasha Kovalev, took home the top spot in the show's 2014 series.

She faced-off pop stars Frankie Bridge and Simon Webbe in the finale, and emerged victorious.

After earning the first perfect score of the whole series in the semi-finals, the pair landed three perfect 40s in the finale with their performances including a showstopper to Angels by Robbie Williams.

Their Charleston to 50s comedy hit Istanbul (Not Constantinople) cemented their fate, and they grabbed the glitterball.

2015 – Jay McGuiness

Jay, who found fame in boyband The Wanted, wowed audiences almost immediately with his fancy footwork.

In fact, audiences were outraged during movie week three weeks in, when his now iconic jive to Pulp Fiction's Misourlou only got him 37 points as judges said it was "too early" for a perfect 40.

Together with partner Aliona Vilani, he beat actresses Georgia May Foote and Kellie Bright to bag the trophy.

The series was Aliona's last, and she left the show on top after bagging the top spot.

2016 – Ore Oduba

Partnered with Joanne Clifton, sports presenter Ore lifted the trophy after beating Louise Redknapp and Danny Mac.

The victory was made even more sweet for Joanne after he went head-to-head with his brother, Kevin, in the final.

They finished their winning streak with two perfect scores, and won over the audience with their upbeat dances to songs which included an American Smooth to Singin' In the Rain and a jive to Runaway Baby.

2017 – Joe McFadden

The former Holy City actor emerged as a shock winner of the show's fifteenth series.

Partnered with Katya Jones, the two stormed to victory as they defeated X-Factor winner Alexandra Burke, radio presenter Debbie McGee and former Emmerdale actor Gemma Atkinson.

After recording the highest score in just one week throughout the series, Joe's enthusiasm and hard work propelled him to the final where he won the hearts and minds of fans to lift the trophy.

2018 – Stacey Dooley

Like Joe the year before, Stacey was regularly outscored by some of her fellow celebrities, attaining the highest score from the judges in just one week.

However, her chemistry with Kevin Clifton was undeniable and fans took to the energy they showcased with every performance.

The journalists' renditions of the Foxtrot and Paso Doble in the final were enough to see her crowned the winner of Strictly.

2019 – Kevin Fletcher

Kelvin Fletcher and dance partner Oti Mabuse were crowned Strictly Come Dancing 2019 champions.

The former Emmerdale star who used to play Andy Sugden in the ITV soap, was initially not even part of the BBC dance contest. But after replacing Made In Chelsea star Jamie Laing he took the judges and fan's breath away with his rendition of the Samba in week one.

Bruno Tonioli even went as far as to describe the performance as the greatest debut dance he had ever seen on Strictly.


Source: Read Full Article