Who won the St Leger at Doncaster? Steward's enquiry sees late change of placings | The Sun

THE St Leger at Doncaster is the final Classic of the season – and one of the biggest races all year.

It is the flagship race of the St Leger Festival and this year is run on Sunday, September 11.

The race is usually contested on the Saturday before.

But it was moved this year as all racing was cancelled on Saturday as a mark of respect after The Queen passed away peacefully aged 96.

Who won the St Leger?


A thoroughly convincing win for Eldar Eldarov and jockey David Egan – what a sensational ride!

He always had bags and bags of stamina about him and trainer Roger Varian singled out this race earlier this season.

Challenged by Derby runner-up Hoo Ya Mal down the outside, Eldar took his usual time to get going but, boy, when he did – wow!

Full credit to Frankie Dettori on Haskoy, who was in just her third race and in the famous Juddmonte colours and had come second before the placings were revised as below.

St Leger result

1st Eldar Eldarov 9-2

2nd New London 11-8

3rd Giavellotto 28-1

4th Haskoy 9-2

5th Emily Dickinson 16-1

6th El Habeeb 150-1

7th French Claim 9-1

8th Hoo Ya Mal 15-2

9th Lizzie Jean 100-1

    Source: Read Full Article